RECENT POSTS

Quick and Easy Healthy Recipes

I decided to challenge myself to something new: cooking.

Some of you may not be able to relate to me on this (for those who can, thank you), but I hate cooking. I do love the end result, but I find the whole process long and boring. It just depresses me that a dish that requires so much time and effort is eaten in 3 minutes (that’s right, I eat fast.)

Howerver, I think we all need to get out of our comfort zones from time to time and do things we’re not used to doing. I also think developing new skills makes life so much more interesting.

So, in addition to answering my favorite 15 fitness FAQs over the course of a few weeks, I plan to develop my cooking skills. Every week I’ll write a post on my favorite dish that week. I’m really not a bad cook, I just don’t enjoy cooking. I hope this challenge ignites a fire in me.

The dishes I choose will ALWAYS respect this criteria.

  1. Tasty (nobody likes eating a boring dinner)
  2. Healthy (low GI, no preservatives, etc)
  3. Easy to make

This week’s meal is Tandoori chicken

wpid-imag1627_2.jpg

What you’ll need:

  • Chicken breast (cut in strips) Quantity not important
  • Tandoori marsala spices
  • Virgin coconut oil (just enough to keep the chicken from sticking)
  • Basmati rice (I chose brown rice)
  • Broccoli
  • 1 pan
  • 2 pots
  • 1 spatula
  • 1 spoon for the rice

Directions

  1. Put 1 part rice and 2 parts water into a pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Turn down the heat; not too much, as the water has to keep boiling, then cover.
  3. Set timer to 15 minutes.
  4. Heat pan with coconut oil on medium- high, add chicken strips (the thinner they are, the faster they cook).
  5. Strir chicken so that all sides cook evenly.
  6. Sprinkle Tandoori spices and strir so that all part of the chicken are seasoned.
  7. Turn down heat and strir from time to time.
  8. Boil water in second pot and place vegetable steamer on the bottom.
  9. 3 minutes before rice is ready add broccoli and cover pot.
  10. When the timer goes off remove rice pot from heat, but keep pot covered AND rince broccoli in cold water to set color.
  11. Verify if chicken is cooked (white inside).
  12. Serve and enjoy.

 

wpid-img_20150124_101613.jpg

Why eat this meal?

  • Healthy
  • Tasty
  • Low in fat
  • Low glycemic index (GI)
  • Doesn’t require continuous supervision
  • High in protein

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About Dom (33 Articles)
Accedigest.com

1 Comment on Quick and Easy Healthy Recipes

  1. natalie2sweet // July 5, 2017 at 2:39 pm // Reply

    I like that the directions were very precise and helpful, thanks for sharing these quick and easy healthy recipes. My family’s favorite recipe was the Tandoori chicken.
    Best Regards

    Like

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The Paradox of Choice | Ace

What do YOU thinK?

